GRÓ Governing Board

The GRÓ Governing Board is composed of five representatives. One representative, who is also Chairperson, is appointed by the Ministry for Foreign Affairs, one is appointed by the Ministry of Education, Science and Culture, one by the Director-General of UNESCO, one by the Icelandic National Commission for UNESCO and one representative is designated independently of the authorities by the Development Cooperation Committee. Additionally, the Director General of GRÓ is a non-voting member of the GRÓ Governing Board.

Current members of the GRÓ Governing Board:

  • Mr. Jón Karl Ólafsson, Chairman
     - appointed by the Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Development Cooperation

  • Ms. Guðrún Margrét Guðmundsdóttir
     - appointed by the Icelandic Development Cooperation Committee

  • Ms. Zazie Schafer
     - appointed by the Director General of UNESCO
  • Mr. Ragnar Þorgeirsson
     - appointed by the Minister of Education, Science and Culture

  • Ms. Sæunn Stefánsdóttir
     - appointed by the Icelandic National Commission for UNESCO

  • Ms. Nína Björk Jónsdóttir, Director General of GRÓ (non-voting member)